As I wade through my pain…my pain that is clear and real…it is like warm water that encapsulates me…I swim through it’s rip tides and waves as my pain like a crashing slap is coming to shore…my shore…I am a shore…my pain is below and above me…it is to my sides and it glides itself through my hair, across my skin…I feel my pain wash over me… like I’m putting on an soft,old and familiar blanket…it is covering me…my pain is sheltering me, from no pain…with eyes closed…and my body now racked with my pain…I roll and twist through my pain…take a long deep breath and submerge myself into my pain…I swim deeper and deeper down into my pain…I swim down until I feel like I can no longer hold my breath…deeper I go…my lungs are about to burst…my ears are ringing with new pain…yet I swim deeper still…and when I finally cannot stand my pain any longer…I open my mouth…I inhale my pain…it fills me…I begin to float to the surface…carried along by my pain…I break through, into the light of morning…gasping and spitting out the pain…I am in my bed…what a horrible dream I just had…was it a dream…I look around my bed and myself…it is then that I noticed that my big toe has poked through a hole in my sock…ouch that hurts…

 

-Peace

Leave a Reply

