This heart of mine, the muscle inside of me, pulsing, beating, and pumping life into my life. I  feel it, I hear it in the silence of night. I hold it in a bedside cradle, like a one eye open sleeping father would a newborn. Only I am it’s child, my heart is the one that never rests. My heart is mine, yet it allows me to be who I choose to be. My heart does not tell me, I command it, yet it lets me feel.

I also know that someday it will stop, just cease to exist. It will not warn me when it suddenly stops, for I have not earned that courtesy. And that’s okay with me, I’ll not be mad. I have given my heart more than it’s fair share of love and pain. I have asked my heart to give love and pain to others as well. My heart does not detest me for the pain I shared with others. And make no mistake, it was a shared pain. 

And in the end, my end, when that moment comes, that dreadful instant when I will know that this is it THE END.

My heart will not ask of me to struggle to keep it pumping, pulsing ,beating.

For it knows that I will accept OUR END. It will only seek to for me to take one last sweet breath and release it completely to my soul, to lie still and seek the heavens that brought us together.

This heart of mine, this beautiful gift given to me will share my very last moment with me just like it was our first moment together. 

 

-Peace

 

Leave a comment